Universiteit Leiden

nl en


Mon 11 Feb: Dutch National Student Orchestra plays Shostakovich

7 February 2019


  • Hawar Tawfiq – Composition assignment
  • Sergei Prokofiev – Violin concerto no. 1 with soloist Maria Milstein
  • Dmitri Shostakovich– Symphony no. 7 ‘Leningrad’

World-class violinist Maria Milstein plays Prokofiev’s lyrical first violin concerto. Dutch/Russian Milstein has won two Edisons and played all over the world as soloist with a host of renowned orchestras.

In 'Leningrad', Shostakovich symbolises the German invasion of the Soviet Union, the terror of Stalin and the brave resistance of besieged Leningrad. This symphony, perhaps the most important of the twentieth century, will be performed by the 67th edition of the Dutch National Student Orchestra, made up of about 100 ambitious students from all over the Netherlands.

Before the performance, Studium Generale has organised a (free) introduction to the concert, given by Leo Samama.

This website uses cookies. Read more