Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Organisation, Research

FGGA PhD deans appointed

9 February 2021

Since January 2021, the Faculty Board has appointed two PhD deans: Dr Vanessa Newby  and Dr Alex Afonso. They are the first points of contact for PhD students and their supervisors (supervisor and co-supervisor) with questions about supervision and progress of the PhD project. Alex does this for the PhD students and supervisors of the Institute of Security and Global Affairs (ISGA) and Vanessa for the Institute of Public Administration and Leiden University College. In this way they can work from an independent position and  do not need to be involved in issues within their own institute.

Together with the FGGA Graduate School, the PhD deans will also take up a number of policy tasks, including formalizing the go / no go moment. This is a moment for all new PhD students in their first year, when after 10 months the progress of the PhD project is evaluated and a decision is made to continue or stop. This means that the Graduate School complies with the university guidelines for PhD students.

On 12 February and 4 March, the Graduate School is organizing two opportunities to meet the PhD deans online. During this meeting, Dean Erwin Muller will address a brief word to all PhD students and their supervisors and there will also be a presentation on the new PhD Regulations 2021. PhD students and supervisors are welcome to participate in either meeting. An invitation will be sent by email. It is not necessary to register in advance.

This website uses cookies.  More information.