Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Existing partnerships

All partnerships between Leiden and international partner universities are managed in a central database.

Please contact International Relations for information about partnerships.

Examples of partnerships

Leiden University has been awarded the following ICM mobility projects:

2019-2022 projects

  • Albania: Faculty of Law with University of Tirana
  • China: Faculty of Science with Sichuan University
  • Cuba: LUMC with Havana University
  • Georgia: Faculty of Humanities with Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University
  • Indonesia:  LUMC with University of Indonesia and Atma Jaya Catholic University
  • Kazakhstan – ICLON with KAZGUU University and Kazakh National Pedagogical University after Abai
  • Kenia: Faculty of Science University of Nairobi, Catholic University of Eastern Africa and Strathmore University
  • Lebanon: Faculty of Law with Holy Spirit University of Kaslik
  • Morocco: Faculty of Humanities with École de Gouvernance et d’Economie de Rabat
  • Russia: LUMC with Siberian State Medical University
  • Rwanda: Faculty of Law with University of Rwanda
  • Surinam: Faculty of Humanities Anton de Kom Universiteit
  • Tanzania: Faculty of Science with University of Dar Es Salam
  • South Africa: Faculty of Science with University of Pretoria

2017-2019 projects

  • Cuba: LUMC with Havana University & Finlay Institute
  • Japan: LUMC with Nagasaki University
  • Lebanon: Faculty of Law with Holy Spirit University of Kaslik
  • Morocco: Faculty of Humanities with École de Gouvernance et d’Economie de Rabat
  • Russia: Leiden University (university wide) with National Research University Higher School of Economics
  • South Africa: Leiden University (university wide) with University of the Western Cape
  • Ukraine: Leiden Institute of Chemistry with Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute

An association of 23 leading research-intensive universities that share the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research.

LERU advocates:

  • education through an awareness of the frontiers of human understanding;
  • the creation of new knowledge through basic research, which is the ultimate source of innovation in society;
  • and the promotion of research across a broad front in partnership with industry and society at large.

The purpose of the League is to advocate these values, to influence policy in Europe and to develop best practices through mutual exchange of experience.

The COIMBRA Group is a network of long-established European multidisciplinary universities with an international reputation. Coimbra focuses its efforts on creating academic and cultural ties between its members in order to promote internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in teaching and research and knowledge transfer to society.

The Coimbra Group also aims to influence European educational policy and facilitate the mutual exchange of experience and best practices.

The Europaeum brings young researchers and leaders together to discuss developments in Europe and to promote pan-European thinking; stimulates collaboration in research and teaching between leading European universities and helps academics and students organise conferences, colloquia and summer schools that enable political, cultural and business leaders to participate an interdisciplinary dialogue with the academic world.

European University Association represents and supports higher education institutions in 47 countries, providing them with a unique forum to co-operate and keep abreast of the latest trends in higher education and research policies.

International Association of Universities is a UNESCO-based worldwide association of higher education institutions.

EuroScholars consist of US undergraduate students who participate in research projects within a European network.

Eurolife is a network of European universities in life sciences.

LSH is an exchange program between Leiden University and the LUMC (Netherlands), Karolinska Institute (Sweden) and Heidelberg University (Germany), which allows students to study in joint Master programs at the three institutions.

This website uses cookies.  More information.