Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Academic Calendar

The academic year officially commences on 1 September and ends on 31 August. On collective closing days the university is closed and no lectures take place. The academic calendar applies to the whole university and to all study programmes with the exception of medicine.

Academic Calendar

Download the Academic Calendar 2019 - 2020.

Download

Faculty Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Download: Academic Calendar 2018-2019.

The academic year

The academic year comprises 2 semesters, each of 20 weeks (public holidays and compulsory vacation days not included) in which lectures, examinations, completion of assignments etc. take place| 

Semester I 
Block 1: 10 September until 19 October, lectures start on 10 September
Block 2: 29 October until 14 December

Semester II 
Blok 1: 4 February until 15 March 
Blok 2: 25 March until 17 May 

Examinations

Monday 22 October until Friday 26 October
Monday 17 December until Friday 22 December
Monday 7 January until Friday 1 February
Monday 18 March until Friday 22 March
Monday 20 May until Friday 12 July

Public Holidays/compulsory vacation days

  • 1 January | New Year's Day
  • 8 February | Dies natalis
  • 30 + 31 March| Good Friday
  • 1 + 2 April | Easter
  • 27 April | King's day
  • 5 May | Liberation day
  • 10 + 11 May | Ascension Day
  • 20 + 21 May | Pentecost
  • 16 July to 19 August: Summer closing: Lipsius opened Mon-Sat: 7.30-18.00 hrs, closed on Sunday
  • 3 October| Leiden's Relief
  • 24 December | Christmas Eve
  • 25 en 26 December| Christmas and Boxing Day
  • 27 t/m 31 December| Compulsory collective closures

This website uses cookies. Read more