Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Conference | Best practices meeting

International Student Experience

Date
Monday 12 March 2018
Time
Address
Scheltema
Marktsteeg 1
2300 CS Leiden

This meeting provides an opportunity for university academic and support staff to jointly reflect on enhancement of the international student experience at Leiden University. International students are also most welcome to attend this event and contribute to the debate by sharing their personal experiences.

Showcase of initiatives

At this event the university will showcase key central initiatives aimed at the continuous improvement of the experience of our international students. These initiatives are aimed at providing targeted pre-and post-arrival support for students as well as improving communication with international students during their trajectory from prospective student to alumnus. 

Programme

13:30 ‑ 14:00 Registration for break-out sessions
14:00 ‑ 14:30 Welcome and panel discussion 
14:30 ‑ 15:00 Overview of central ISE projects
15:00 ‑ 15:15 Coffee break
15:15 ‑ 16:30

Sharing of best practices in break-out sessions

Various faculties will present and discuss their examples of best practices more in-depth in smaller groups during the break-out sessions. These examples are related to community building and support initiatives for international students. There will be 3 rounds with each 4 best practices. Participants can choose their break-out sessions on a first-come first-served basis during registration on the day itself from 13:30 to 14:00 hrs.

16:30 ‑ 17:00 Recap
17:00 ‑ 18:00 Drinks

Speaking language

The speaking language of the meeting will be decided based upon the preferences of the attendees. You can indicate your preference on the registration form.  

Best practices

  1. Buddy programme Faculty of Science
    International students are paired to current Science students to make the international students feel welcome and to help them finding their way.
    Gloria Schildwacht (schildwacht@science.leidenuniv.nl), Margot Moeslinger
    More information
      
  2. Cross Cultural Community course
    A course for students in Computer Science, and other science programme to develop cross cultural skills.
    Annemart Berendse (a.c.berendse@liacs.leidenuniv.nl)
     
  3. English taught semester at Biomedical Sciences
    A fully English taught semester where local students and incoming international students form a truely international classroom.
    Evelien Hack (e.hack@lumc.nl)
    More information
      
  4. Internationalisation committee of study association MFLS
    LisCo was founded as a committee to make the stay of international students at LUMC more pleasant.
    Jozif Vlaski (voorzitter@mfls.nl) + member Internationalisation committee
    More information
     
  5. Humanities buddy programma for master students
    Each year, many students come to Leiden, and many find a home away from home thanks to the Humanities Master’s Buddy Programme.
    Namrata de Leeuw (n.de.leeuw@hum.leidenuniv.nl), Marliese Vollebregt (marliese.vollebregt@gmail.com), Olivier Faijgenblat
    More information
      
  6. Communication and community building at the International Bachelor Psychology
    How to create a sense of community and manage expectations?
    Jennifer Martin (j.m.martin@fsw.leidenuniv.nl), Florine Weekenstroo (f.weekenstroo@fsw.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
      
  7. Global Lounge + community building
    In the Global Lounge students and staff can meet, in an international setting, watch the news from all over the world, find information about partner universities and lot’s more.
    Anette van Sandwijk (a.m.m.van.sandwijk@law.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
      
  8. Pantomime / Dies Fatalis
    An activity to bring together LUC students and staff
    Hungwah Lam (h.w.lam@luc.leidenuniv.nl)
      
  9. Residence Life Programme
    The Residence Life Programme supports students in their academic pursuits, personal growth and participation in the community.
    Jantien Delwel (j.delwel@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  10. Student Counselling at LUC
    Two SEA Student Life Counsellors are working at LUC. Depending on students’ problems and circumstances, solutions and support may be offered.
    Vinanda Kapooria (v.kapooria@sea.leidenuniv.nl), Ranoe Sewrattan (r.r.sewrattan@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  11. Career services for international students
    SEA offers career support for local and international students.
    Sophie Blok (s.blok@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  12. International student panel
    The Faculty of Science set up a panel with international students to function as a sounding board within the faculty community.
    Gloria Schildwacht (schildwacht@science.leidenuniv.nl)

This website uses cookies. Read more