Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Alumni Event | University ceremony

Dies Natalis

Friday 8 February 2019
The ceremony will start at 15.00 hrs precisely. You are kindly requested to be seated by 14.50 hrs.
Pieterskerkhof 1A
2311 SP Leiden

On 8 February it is 444 years ago that Leiden University was founded. This special anniversary calls for a special celebration. On the Dies Natalis we will open this festive year, with a unique and historical addition to the traditional procession of professors. The whole year, we will celebrate our anniversary with the residents of Leiden and The Hague. In, with and for these two cities.

Dies lectures

The Dies lectures will be delivered by:

  • Professor Sybille Lammes, Professor of New Media and Digital Culture. The lecture is entitled: "Huizinga revisited: Play in the digital age".
  • Professor Simone van der Hof, Professor of Law and Digital Technologies. Her lecture is entitled: "Click, swipe, like...you're sold! Growing up in a world of surveillance capitalism".

Honorary doctorates

During the ceremony, honorary doctorates will be conferred on:

  • Professor Melissa Little, cell biologist (Melbourne). She will receive this award for her exceptional research on potential regenerative therapies for chronic kidney diseases, and her research in the field of systems biology of kidney development. Honorary Supervisor is Professor Ton Rabelink, professor of Internal Medicine, Faculty of Medicine. Dean of this Faculty is Professor Pancras Hogendoorn.
  • Professor Robbert Dijkgraaf, mathematical physicist (Princeton). He is receiving the award for his application of topological concepts from mathematics to quantum field theories from physics. Honorary Supervisor is Professor Eric Eliel, professor of Quantum optics, Faculty of Science. Professor Geert de Snoo is this Faculty‚Äôs Dean.

Musical interludes

Students of the Practicum Musicae programme of the Academy of Creative and Performing Arts (ACPA) will perform the musical interludes.

Close of the meeting

The ceremony will be drawn to a close by Professor Carel Stolker, Rector Magnificus and President of the Executive Board.

During the reception after the ceremony there will be the opportunity to congratulate the members of the Executive Board, the Dies lecturers, the Honorary Doctors, the Honorary Supervisors, and the deans and their partners.  The reception is expected to begin at around 17.00 hrs.  

Dies Natalis in The Hague

Students and employees based in The Hague who want to join the ceremony in the Pieterskerk in Leiden, can use the free bus transport leaving from Wijnhaven. More information and how to sign up.

Live video

You can no longer register for this event. However, you can follow the ceremony via a live broadcast on this webpage. In The Hague this broadcast can be seen on screens at the Spanish Steps of the Wijnhaven Building.

This website uses cookies.  More information.