Universiteit Leiden

nl en


Award of the Scaliger Medal to The Europaeum

Thursday 23 September 2021
Academy Building
Rapenburg 73
2311 GJ Leiden
Great Auditorium

Promoting European values and academic freedom

The Leiden University Board of Deans will award the Scaliger Medal to The Europaeum for its services to developing – and in more troubled times to maintaining – close academic ties between European universities, to training and educating a large group of students at various levels and above all to promoting European values and academic freedom.


During the ceremony Rick Honings, who was appointed Scaliger Professor at Leiden University in June 2020, will give a brief explanation of this special medal. Kasper van Ommen, a curator at Leiden University Libraries, will also be giving a talk about Leiden as an academic centre for visitors from abroad. Prof. Annetje Ottow, President of the Executive Board, will award the medal. Dr Andrew Graham, Trustee of The Europaeum, will receive the award.


Only a limited number of people can attend the ceremony in person. A livestream of the entire ceremony will be available on this web page on 23 September at 16:00.

About the Scaliger Medal

Since 2017 Leiden University has awarded the Scaliger Medal to people and organisations that uphold the values that universities stand for worldwide in their teaching and research, and do so in a unique manner. Previous recipients of the Scaliger Medal have been Kurt Deketelaere, Secretary-General of LERU (2017), and Henri Lenferink, Mayor of Leiden (2020).

About The Europaeum

The Europaeum brings together young researchers and research leaders to discuss developments in Europe. It is also committed to pan-European thought and organises international conferences, colloquia and summer schools.

Leiden University is currently participating in the MA in European History and Civilisation, where students study in, respectively, Leiden, Paris and Oxford, and in the Erasmus Mundus MA in European Politics & Society in collaboration with Charles University (Prague), Jagellonian University (Kraków) and Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona).

The Europaeum launched a new programme in 2017: The Europaeum Scholars Programme, a graduate school for a select number of PhD candidates from within The Europaeum network that takes them to a number of European universities.

This website uses cookies.  More information.