Universiteit Leiden

nl en

About us

Leiden University was founded in 1575 and is one of the leading international research universities in Europe. The University has seven faculties and a campus in both Leiden and The Hague. The university has more than 32.000 students and 7.100 employees. Our motto is Praesidium Libertatis – Bastion of Freedom.

The University as a whole is managed by the Executive Board, which in turn is monitored by the Board of Governors. The University Council is the University’s co-participation body. The Executive Board is supported in its work by the Administration and Central Services department and various expertise centres.


Service units

This website uses cookies.  More information.