Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Meijers prizes and thesis prizes awarded at New Year’s event

On Tuesday 11 January 2022, the annual Meijers prizes and thesis prizes were awarded at the online New Year’s event broadcast.

The Meijers prizes are awarded each year to the best published article from each faculty research programme. Leiden Law School has eight broad research programmes.

Director of Research Stefaan Van den Bogaert announced the following winners during the New Year’s event:

Criminal Justice

Roxane de Massol de RebetzHow useful is the concept of transit migration in an intra-Schengen mobility context? Diving into the migrant smuggling and human trafficking nexus in search for answers

Published in: European Journal on Criminal Policy and Research 2021, p. 41-63

Coherent Privaatrecht

Jessie PoolBelemmeringen bij de aanpak van onregelmatigheden van de curator

Published inRecht der Werkelijkheid (42)1: 10-36

Exploring the Frontiers of International Law

Paula Baldini Miranda da CruzTrackers and Trailblazers: Dynamic Interactions and Institutional Design in the Inter-American Court of Human Rights

Published inJournal of International Dispute Settlement, Vol. 11,  2020, pp. 69–90

Effective Protective of Fundamental Rights

Alan SearsThe limits of online price discrimination in Europe

Published inColumbia Science and Technology Law Review 21(1) 1-42

Grenzen van fiscale soevereiniteit

Mees Vergouwen (& D.M. Broekhuijsen): How Often Do OECD Member Countries Update Their Tax Treaties?

Published inBulletin for International Taxation 2021 (Volume 75), No. 10

Hervorming van sociale regelgeving

Vincent BakkerSocial investment, employment and policy and institutional complementarities: a comparative analysis across 26 OECD countries

Published inJournal of Social Policy 2021 : 1-23

The Legitimacy and Effectiveness of Law & Governance

Rowie Stolk: Wie zijn zij…?! De representativiteit van procederende belangenorganisaties

Published inTijdschrift voor Bestuursrecht 2020(8): 472-480

The progression of EU law

Nathan Arriba-SellierTurning Gold into Green: Green Finance in the Mandate of European Financial Supervision

Published in(2021) 58:4 Common Market Law Review 1097-1140

The winners receive a certificate and a sum of money to spend on their research. Two of the eight winners were also awarded the Van Wersch Springplank prize. This year, there two prizes of €5000 for scholarly publications by active and talented researchers in the area of medical/pharmaceutical and legal research. The winners are Jessie Pool and Paula Baldini Miranda da Cruz.

The eight winners of the Meijers prizes

Thesis prizes

In addition to the Meijers Prizes, prizes were also awarded for the best Master's theses of the past year. Three cash prizes of respectively 1000, 800 and 600 euros have been awarded for this. The thesis prizes are made possible by the Oukha Foundation.

The prizes were presented by Professor Bart Krans. 'Especially in these online times, it is important that students get the attention they deserve,' he said.

The winners are:

  1. T. Lubbers (prof. mr. E. Koops)
    Jacob Corens Observatio 40
  2. M. van der Plas (prof. mr. W.A.K. Rank) 
    De Unierechtelijke aspecten van de Nederlandse bijzonder zorgplicht
  3. C. van Autryve (prof. dr. L. van Middelaar)
    The Multiannual Financial Framework in a Semi-Presidential System?
C. van Autryve, M. van der Plas, and T. Lubbers

The Meijers prizes and the thesis prizes were awarded during the live New Year’s online broadcast. The entire New Year’s broadcast can be watched here.

This website uses cookies.  More information.